

NCSECS Charter School Special Education Finance Project

FOCUSED REPORT—Authorizer Type

Background Information

State laws empower a variety of agencies to authorize charter schools. The National Association of Charter School Authorizers recognizes six types of authorizers:

- 1. Local Education Agency (**LEA**): LEAs authorize charter schools in 31 states. In 2015, LEAs represented 950 of 1,050 authorizers nationwide.
- 2. State Education Agency (SEA): SEAs authorize charter schools in 17 states.
- 3. Institution of Higher Education (IHE): IHEs authorize charter schools in 12 states.
- 4. Not-for-profit organization (NFP): NFPs authorize charter schools in 2 states.
- 5. Independent Charter Board (ICB): ICBs authorize charter schools in 14 states and the District of Columbia. Also known as "commissions" or "institutes," these statewide bodies award charters and oversee charter schools.
- 6. Non-education government entity (NEG): Mayors or municipalities serve as authorizers in 3 states.

This report identifies the type of authorizer used by each state.

*Note that states with no charter laws do not appear in this table.

Authorizer Type by State									
State	SEA	LEA	COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY	INDEPENDENT CHARTER BOARD	NON PROFIT ORGANIZATION	MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT			
Alabama		✓		✓					
Alaska		✓							
Arizona		✓		✓					
Arkansas	✓								
California	✓	✓							
Colorado		✓		✓					
Connecticut	✓	✓							
Delaware	✓	✓							
D.C				✓					
Florida		✓							
Georgia	✓	✓							
Hawaii				✓					
Idaho		✓		✓					
Illinois	✓	✓							
Indiana		✓	✓	✓		✓			



	Authorizer Type by State (cont.)									
State	SEA	LEA	COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY	INDEPENDENT CHARTER BOARD	NON PROFIT ORGANIZATION	MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT				
Iowa	✓	✓								
Kansas		✓								
Kentucky		✓				✓				
Louisiana	✓	✓								
Maine		✓		✓						
Maryland	✓	✓								
Massachusetts	✓									
Michigan		✓	✓							
Minnesota		✓	✓		✓					
Mississippi	✓		✓	✓						
Missouri	✓		✓							
Nevada		✓	✓	✓						
New Hampshire	✓	✓								
New Jersey	✓									
New Mexico	✓	✓								
New York	✓	✓	✓							
North Carolina	✓									
Ohio		✓	✓		✓					
Oklahoma		✓	✓			✓				
Oregon	✓	✓								
Pennsylvania		✓								
Rhode Island	✓									
South Carolina	✓	✓	✓							
Tennessee	✓	✓		✓						
Texas	✓	✓								
Utah		✓	✓	✓						
Virginia		✓								
Washington	✓									
Wisconsin		✓	✓							
Wyoming		✓		✓						

